Sharing is Caring

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print


The sages then asked Suta about the Agniyagya, Brahma yagya, and Guru  Puja  in order of importance.

Suta said-

“Performing ‘havan’ by offering matter and materials into the sacred fire, is called Agni yagya. This ritual is especially meant for the brahmachari (celibates).  Performing havana during the evening time brings prosperity, while  performance  of havana during the morning times gives long life. Making sacrifices to the deities during the daytime is called ‘Deva Yagya’. A brahmin should perform ‘Brahma yagya with the help of the study of the Vedas.”

“First of all lord Shiva adopted an auspicious day for himself and named it Sunday. After that he named  the  Six  remaining  days  of  the  week  and  attributed  them  to  the  following  deities respectively – Monday (Durga), Tuesday (Skanda),  Wednesday (Vishnu), Thursday (Yama), Friday (Brahma), and Saturday (Indra).

Worshipping  the  deities  on  their  respective  days  give  peace  properity  and   all  kinds  of accomplishments.