Having finished the tale of goddess Durga, sage Mahatapa revealed how all the six directions came into existence- “Six divine women manifested themselves from both the ears of lord Brahma during the initial phase of creation. The name of these six divine women were Purva (east), Dakshaina (south), Paschima (west), Uttara (north), Urdhva (upwards) and Adhara (downwards). In course of time all of them got married to six different Lokpals. Lord Brahma assigned the auspicious¬† day of dashami for their worship. One who worships all these six goddesses on the auspicious day of dashami is blessed and one who observes fast on this day gets absolved of all his sins.


Leave a Reply