Sharing is Caring

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print

This is the first of the four asramas, or stages of life. The other three are house­holder (grihastha), forest dweller (vanaprastha), and renunciate (samnyasa).
A brahmacari was one who stayed in the household of the teacher (guru, or acarya) and learned scriptures, rituals, and ascetic practices. It was a period of chastity, ended by dying a symbolic death involving a bath in a river and being reborn to marry and enter the duties of a householder.