SAPTA-NAGAS The collective name of the seven divine serpents

SAPTA-NAGAS The Sapta-Nagas were Ananta, Takshaka, Karka, Padma, Mahapadma, Sank- haka, and Gulika. Iconographically, they all wear the sacred thread of a brahmin, have an extended hood, and may have multiple heads.SAPTA-RISHIS
The collective name of the seven most important sages
There were seven Sages (sapta-rishis) at the beginning of the era, the current manvantara. The sapta-rishis were Marici, Angiras, Atri, Pulastya, Vasishtha, Pulaha, and Kratu.
There are other lists of the seven sages, such as Vasishtha, Atri, Kasiyapa, Visvamitra, Gautama, Jamadagni, and Bharadvaja. They were the witnesses of the many creations. They were the ones who heard the eternal Vedas and vouch for their integrity in every age. The seven are also called the maharishis, the great sages.
However, the difference between lists has led some Hindu authorities to say that the sapta-rishis may vary from manvantara to manvantara.
In one myth the sapta-rishis were rescued by Vishnu in his fish incarnation (as Matsya) along with the Vedas so they would help in the renewal of the universe.

Leave a Reply