19) The Solar Dynasty

The sun-god, Vivasvana, was the son of Kashyapa and Aditi. He had four wives, Samjna, Rajni, Prabha and Chhaya.


Samjna’s son was Vaivasvata Manu. Rajni’s children were Yama, yamuna and Revanta. Savarni, Shani, Tapati and Vishti were Chhaya’s children and Prabha’s son was Prabhata.


(The names do not tally across the Puranas. For example, in the Markandeya Purana, the sun had only two wives, Samjna and Chhaya. Yama and Yamuna were also the children of Samjna.)


Vaivasvata Manu had nine sons. Their names were Ikshvaku, Nabhaga, Arishta, Karusha and

Prishadhra. Manu also had a daughter named Ila, from whom the lunar dynasty originated.


Ikshvaku’s son was Vikukshi and this was the line of Kakutstha. In this line was born Rama, of

Ramayana fame.


The names of several kings of the solar dynasty are given. But these we will not reproduce, as they are merely a catalogue of names.

Leave a Reply