Describing how a Shaligram is named on the basis of number of Chakra present on it, Lord Vishnu said–‘If there is only one Chakra on the Shaligram idol then it is called ‘Sudarshan’. In the same way, Shaligram with two Chakras is known as ‘Lakshmi Narayan’ while that having three Chakras on it is called ‘Achyut’. Shaligram with four Chakra on it is known as ‘Chaturbhuj’, that with five Chakras ‘Vasudev’. Similarly, Shaligram with six, seven, eight, ninth, tenth, eleven and twelve Chakras are called ‘Pradyumana’, ‘Sankarshan’, ‘Purushottam’, ‘Navavyuha’,
‘Dashatmak’, ‘Aniruddha’ and Dwi-Dashatmak respectively. Shaligrams with more than twelve
Chakras are called infinite.

Leave a Reply